Total noob

As the title suggests, I’m a total noob to micro quads. I’ve got good experience with cars and a little with airplanes, but almost none with quads.

My questions are as follows:

1- Should I do a scratch build or modify an RTF like an inductrix or an E010?
2- If I the scratch build way, I would need the FC to be DSM compatible. I know FrSky is more popular, but all I have is a DX6E.
3- What are some good, affordable FPV goggles?

Any help is appreciated.

Honestly a cheap tiny whoop was the best trainer I have bought thus far. Easy to fix or upgrade. Not sure on compatibility of dsm. I’m using flysky with multiprotocol for e011 whoop.
Eachine ev800 cheap, built in battery, headphone jack for audio, no adjustment for lens though.( Box goggles) Ev800d offers built in dvr. But imho external dvr is cheaper. Ev100 are decent aswell. These are the only goggles I’ve used so my view may be a bit skewed.

I agree. A cheap tiny whoop is a good start as it takes a while to get used to the sticks in rate mode. Micro Motor Warehouse sells some great DIY kits!

I’d not get the EV100. From what I’ve heard they have countless issues. I got the EV800 from Banggood and they’ve been pretty good to me after a year of flying. I even did the external DVR mod and the video is decent.

I’m thinking about going for the E010, but the only thing I don’t like is the cheap transmitter. Since I don’t have a taranis, I’m limited to DSM with my DX6E. I’m totally sold on the EV800 goggles though