Micro Motor Community

Ok - how can I get my point across without sounding like a dweeb? (hahaha)

I tried posting my question at the GitHub and unfortunately, I didn’t have the patience to press on. Those of you that have gotten to know me through posts here and (mail-posts) could come to the conclusion that I’m a better builder than a pilot, but overall something above the novice level. I would appreciate if one of the seniors here at the MMWF would take a stab at trying to interpret my intention into proper GitHub terminology - Hahaha

In previous posts I’ve noted that the Airmode minimum throttle is “at times” too high, causing the craft to float, and/or rise in altitude - WITH THE THROTTLE AT ZERO (not yelling, just trying to make a point).

While I understand this could be an anomaly with 2 of my lightest but, most powerful builds, I would like to be able to set a fallback or minimum throttle for Airmode (such as an ‘idle up’) to a value between 1000 and x.

If we already have Enable Airmode @ 1350, why not have the ability to set the minimum throttle for Airmode when throttle is @ zero.
Can anyone put it in a language where either I can understand why not, or, how to ask this question properly.

Thanks all!

I may be misunderstanding your question, but digital idle percentage does what your asking. That is if I understand your question correctly, if not, sorry.

Brushless or brushed? If it’s brushless and dshot try lowering the idle, if it still gains altitude you’ll need to either drop the PIDs or change to less aggressive props.
For example: I found that the dys 304t triblades flew really nicely in my spintech 8000kv build, but hovered (mid air, not ground effect) at 9%, which meant that it was nearly impossible to lose altitude with them without print it into a gnarly dive.
The minimum motor speed to not stall was simply too close to the hover speed.

Prop selection makes a massive difference, especially at the small quad scale.

Might be normal!